Brous Named Lacrosse Freshman of the Year, Joins Urso on All-SSC First Team

Brous Named Lacrosse Freshman of the Year, Joins Urso on All-SSC First Team

Melbourne, Fla. – Dryden Brous and Mikey Urso of the Lynn University lacrosse team collected All-Sunshine State Conference honors, announced by the conference office on Thursday as voted upon by the league's coaches. Brous becomes the program's first-ever individual athlete major award winner with Freshman of the Year plaudits while Brous and Urso earn the second and third selections to the All-SSC First Team in school history.

Brous caught fire down the closing stretch of the regular season, rolling through opponents at the faceoff X. He has won 131-of-192 faceoffs on the season for a .682 winning percentage, the best clip in the SSC and the fifth-highest in the nation. He has also contributed on the offensive end, tallying seven points behind six assists and a goal and is nearing in on the single-season school record for ground balls with a team-high 73.

Brous closed out the regular season with three consecutive SSC Specialist of the Week selections and totaled a program-record four on the season. He also secured the second National Player of the Week award in program history following a stellar performance in the team's win over Saint Leo.

His Freshman of the Year honor is a program-first and joins Brian Kingsbury's 2015 Coach of the Year accolade as the only two individual major awards for the program. Brous becomes the 11th All-SSC Freshman Team pick for Lynn while Brous and Urso are the second and third players to be named to the All-SSC First Team. Teammate and fellow faceoff specialist Christopher Lasprogata garnered the program's first-ever first team pick in 2016.

Urso saw his role change midway through the year, switching from a starting attacker to an offensive midfielder, but his ability to find open teammates for goals remained apparent as the redshirt-sophomore notches All-SSC First Team honors. Urso broke the school's single-season assist record this year with 20 helpers and counting and his 1.67 assists per game is third-best in the conference. He also ranks second on the team in goals with 20 and his 3.33 points per game have him ranked seventh in the league.

Conor Whipple of the University of Tampa is named SSC Player of the Year for the third time in his career. Whipple, a senior from Tampa, becomes the ninth SSC athlete to win a Player of the Year award three times. Whipple leads the SSC and the nation in points per game (5.33) and assists per game (3.20).

SSC coaches voted Rory Whipple Coach of the Year for a third time. The Tampa skipper earns the honor after going 5-0 in the SSC and 12-4 overall in 2017. Whipple has compiled a 55-13 overall record in the last four seasons and is undefeated in SSC play since men's lacrosse was adopted as a league sport in 2014. This year, he became the all-time winningest coach in NCAA Division II history.

Conor Whipple repeats as a first team honoree for a fourth consecutive year. He is the first SSC men's lacrosse athlete to reach this achievement. Marty Heyn and Charlie Cummins of Tampa both earn first team accolades for a third time. Nick Wynne of Florida Tech earns his second first team award.

View the conference release with the full list of All-SSC teams here.