Cross Country’s Jones Lands All-SSC Honors

Cross Country’s Jones Lands All-SSC Honors

Melbourne, Fla. After placing 11th overall at the Sunshine State Conference Championship on Oct. 21, Lynn University cross country runner Alexandra Jones has been named Second Team All-SSC as announced by the conference office on Wednesday afternoon.

Jones led all Lynn runners at the event with a time of 23:39.48, helping lead the team to a sixth-place finish overall. The rookie was a key member of the Lynn squad all season, placing second on the team in each of her 5k races before leading the way in the Blue and White's first 6k race on the year.

Saint Leo's Colett Rampf earned SSC Runner of the Year honors for the fourth consecutive year, while Florida Tech's Lia Hanus was named Freshman of the Year. Mike Rosolino of Embry-Riddle was tabbed as Coach of the Year after guiding the Eagles to the 2017 SSC title.

SSC Runner, Freshman, and Coach of the Year awards are voted upon by league coaches.  Runners who finished in the top-14 at the 2017 SSC Women's Cross Country Championship earned All-SSC status, with the first seven finishers making the All-SSC First Team.

The Fighting Knights return to action on Saturday at Holloway Park in Lakeland for the NCAA South Region Championships. Race time is slated for 8:30 a.m.